A campaign commemorating Florida's diverse cities.
Brought to you by the Florida League of Cities.
Jupiter was one of the first areas of permanent settlement in Palm Beach County. This area has been recorded on maps since 1770. It is an area where now-extinct Indian tribes feasted on bounties of oysters and clams 2,500 years ago, where unique bridges were the only way to get to “the mainland,” and trips here were considered a wild ride out in the country. The first tourists to the Jupiter/Tequesta area were probably Spanish explorers. Ponce de Leon may have touched the wooded shores of Jupiter Inlet in 1513. A tribe of Jeaga Indians called the Jobes lived on a high shell mound near the inlet and remains of these shell mounds still exist. They called the place Jobe or Jove from the Indian names Xega, Jega and Jeaga. Pronounced “Hoe-bay,” the English visiting in 1763 thought “Hoe-bay” sounded like the Spanish version of the pagan god Jove and changed the area’s name to Jupiter. Jonathan Dickinson visited the island in 1696, quite by accident. His welcome by the natives was not a particularly warm one. Dickinson was shipwrecked on Hobe Sound Beach in 1696 along with 25 other crew members and passengers. The state park that now bears Dickinson’s name was once known as Camp Murphy. During World War II, the 11,000 acres was a radar training school. One of the oldest residences, the Harry DuBois Home Museum, is built on the Indian shell mound in DuBois Park. The house was built in 1898 by DuBois for his bride Susan Sanders and has been partially restored, as it was when the family lived there.