History Happened Here

A campaign commemorating Florida's diverse cities.
Brought to you by the Florida League of Cities.


Lafayette County

Year Founded: 1903


The town was established in 1874 by John B. Whitfield and was named after Colonel Mayo. Mayo serves as the county seat and is the only municipality in the county.

Back to Map Back to Top