History Happened Here

A campaign commemorating Florida's diverse cities.
Brought to you by the Florida League of Cities.

South Daytona

Volusia County

Year Founded: 1951


Until about 1926, South Daytona was just a small settlement named Blake. At that time, the three towns of Daytona, Daytona Beach and Seabreeze were consolidated to make the City of Daytona Beach as we now know it, and then proceeded to annex all the adjacent territory, including the Town of Blake. Because of new appraisals and the fact that assessment taxes were increased, the local people hired an attorney and, eventually in 1938, succeeded in breaking away from Daytona Beach to become the incorporated “Town” of South Daytona. The “City” of South Daytona was chartered in 1951.

Back to Map Back to Top